back to the garden

a year of greener thinking

Vegan Breakfast Bars

1 Comment

I found the recipe for these vegan breakfast bars on Pinterest, a site that I’m sort embarrassed that I like. It has nonetheless proven to be a great place to exchange, organize and store recipes.

The breakfast bars are easy to adapt (I might add a little bit of brown sugar or agave nectar, or try a different type of dried fruit next time), and they take no time at all to make. If, like me, you enjoy sleeping in as late as possible, store them in glass containers and grab one on the way out the door for a healthy, on-the-go breakfast.

Vegan Breakfast Bars

  • 1 1/2 cups oats
  • 2-3 ripened bananas (I used three)
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Handful of dried cranberries (the ones I used were sweetened with apple juice)
  • Cinnamon to taste

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. (I used a potato masher on the bananas so they would be easier to mix in.)

3. Spread the mixture onto a baking sheet. (I greased the sheet with earth balance spread, but I think using parchment paper might be even better.)

4. Bake for about 35-40 minutes. (I might leave them in longer if I’m trying to make a crispier bar next time.) Let the finished product cool slightly, then cut bars to desired size and use a spatula to transfer them from the pan to a plate or storage container.

UPDATE: I made these bars again (2/26/12) and added 1/4 of a cup of turbinado sugar to the original mix and sprinkled a little more turbinado sugar on top before putting it in the oven. I also greased the pan with canola oil and baked them for 45 minutes (loosening the bars slightly with a spatula at the 35 minute mark). If you want a bar that is slightly sweeter and crispier, this is the way to go, although I liked both recipes. You also could try adding maple syrup or honey instead (although the bars technically won’t be vegan if you add honey).

Soundtrack: The Jayhawks, Rainy Day Music

Can you spot the jugged wine?

One thought on “Vegan Breakfast Bars

  1. Pingback: blueberry chia banana kale smoothie | back to the garden

Leave a comment