back to the garden

a year of greener thinking

Blueberry Chia Banana Kale Smoothie

2 Comments

After a beautiful spring break in Florida, I’m starting my last quarter of law school and my last two weeks of vegan Lent. I haven’t tried or posted about as many recipes as I’d have liked (finals intervened), but I’m hoping to kick it up a notch between now and Easter. Breakfast seems like a good place to start.

While there are plenty of vegan options for breakfast food, it took giving up eggs to realize just how many of them I eat every week. Since they’re off the table right now (ouch, terrible pun), I’ve had to branch out and try breakfast bars and oatmeal recipes, all of which I’ve really enjoyed.

But I still wanted to try a few more types of breakfast food. I’ve been hearing a lot about the health benefits of chia seeds recently (originally used by the Aztecs, they’re popular in Mexico and are a great source of omega-3 fatty acids and minerals), so I decided to dabble around with smoothie recipes. This blueberry smoothie was my first effort.

blueberry chia banana kale smoothie

  • 2 large kale leaves (I’d consider adding even more next time, since they didn’t overwhelm the smoothie at all.)
  • 5 oz. frozen blueberries (I used half a package of 365 brand frozen wild blueberrries)
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 cup coconut milk (almond or soy milk would work well too)
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • Garnish, if desired (I used a strawberry and a mint leaf, because I had both in my fridge.)

1. Place the kale, blueberries, banana and coconut milk in the blender. Blend until smoothie reaches desired consistency.

2. Add the chia seeds to the smoothie mixture. I let the chia seeds soak in moisture from the smoothie mix for about 10 minutes before blending again, since some sites say the seeds are more easily digestible that way. However, there are a lot of different opinions on when and how to add chia seeds to smoothies. I plan to look into it more and will let you know what I find when I post another smoothie recipe!

3. Garnish with a leaf and/or piece of fruit (I used a strawberry and a mint leaf).

Soundtrack: Paul Simon, Paul Simon

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Chia Banana Kale Smoothie

  1. Sounds great–we have a lot of kale in the garden already! I am thinking of buying that great blender soon.

Leave a Reply

