back to the garden

a year of greener thinking

Homemade Cards

2 Comments

As you can tell from my foray into cardmaking, I’m hard at work on my Islamic law paper this weekend. However, you can only spend so much time in the library stacks before you need a break — and what could be better than an arts and crafts project that doubles as a gift for friends? (Don’t worry; I’m not putting these on my fridge.)

The cards are an easy and inexpensive way to add a homemade touch to presents. All you need to create them is a stack of construction paper, a scissors and a jar of rubber cement. Channel your inner elementary school teacher (or five-year-old), and start drawing!

homemade cards

  • 1 package of construction paper
  • 1 jar of rubber cement
  • 1 scissors
  • A small paintbrush, toothpick, or, if you’re desperate like I was, a Q-tip

The cards are very easy to make. I’m better at drawing when I have an image in front of me, so I googled “baby animals” and “baby toys” for inspiration. After choosing a picture, I sketched it onto construction paper and cut it out (trying, for the most part, to cut inside any pen marks). If you’re worried about drawing freehand, you also could print out and trace animal stencils.

Next, cut the smaller details (like the bear’s eyes and the bird’s beak) from construction paper and used rubber cement to put the entire animal together. (The rubber cement brush is too big and too messy for the small details, so I used a Q-tip instead. I didn’t have a small paintbrush that I was willing to sacrifice or a toothpick, but I think they would have been more helpful.) After finishing the animal, glue it onto the card.

Next, draw letters onto the construction paper and cut out a welcome message. Let the cards dry for an hour or so, and they’ll be ready to mail!

Soundtrack: Curt Kirkwood, Snow

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cards

  1. Pingback: bringing in the darlings | back to the garden

  2. You are so cute! I wish I could be that artistic!

Leave a Reply

