back to the garden

a year of greener thinking

This Moment of January

1 Comment

Happy New Year from the Windy City!

January is supposed to be a time when you take a moment to examine your life. You think about your choices over the past year and question whether they were healthy or even sane (like that time in 2011 when you ate Thai food for seven days straight).

Then, if you’re like me, you dive energetically into winter’s biggest cliché: the compiling of New Year’s resolutions. (I have a weakness for lists.) I like to think of New Year’s resolutions as recyclable, since every year I pick up and dust off resolutions discarded the previous February or March.

This year, I thought I might feel a little more accountable if I wrote about my efforts (there is nothing like public shaming). At first, I worried that blogging about your New Year’s resolutions might feel a little bit like the proverbial nightmare where you’re standing in front of a large audience, naked and judged. But in a moment that was both freeing and slightly deflating, I realized no one was obligated to check this site except my parents (hi guys!) and decided to press on.

Without further ado . . .

2012 New Year’s Resolutions

  •  Write more. Short stories, letters, blog posts, articles, soon-to-be-discarded beginnings of novels, you name it.
  • The most recycled resolution of all: procrastinate less. On work, errands, cleaning the apartment, paying bills. (I learned the latter was important last year when my roommate’s and my power was shut off. I guess electricity wasn’t included in the rent.)
  • Exercise four to five times per week. This resolution will require skipping my usual “winter hiatus” from working out. But I recently joined a yoga studio that is only a five-block walk from my apartment, so my excuses were running low anyway.
  • Follow a plant-based diet. Over the last few years, I’ve eaten mostly vegetarian meals, but I’m hoping to kick it up a notch in 2012 by focusing almost entirely on vegetarian and vegan meals with fresh and natural ingredients (for environmental, health, anti-factory farming and cost reasons). However, you may see a few seafood recipes here, and there will be a dinner-party exception for meat.
  • Tread more lightly. Along with the focus on veggies, I want to use public transportation, bike more and take other “green” measures in 2012. The biggest challenge here? I am an inveterate sleeper, and this resolution will require getting up earlier.
  • Wisconsin homeboy Willy Porter sings a song called “Unconditional Love”, in which he says, “To me, you will always be shining.” In 2012, I’d like to try to view others and their motivations in the best of lights.

With any luck, this blog will be an honest-yet-somewhat-restrained-because-it-is-public compilation of stories, recipes, photos, articles and projects from 2012, my year of greener thinking. I hope you enjoy it.

Goodnight, tiny blog audience, and, whatever you do, don’t let me into this year with an empty heart.

One thought on “This Moment of January

  1. Love the Chicago photo! Have a very happy new year – resolutions fulfilled or not;)

Leave a Reply

